It’s hard to find someone that doesn’t know that it is illegal to drive without auto insurance. On the other hand, its not very hard to find people that don’t know the punishment for not having such insurance. Penalties vary from state to state and Massachusetts has a set of its own.
In Massachusetts, law requires that all cars have insurance on them with the minimum limits of $20,000/$40,000 for bodily injury and $5000 for property damage. These laws are explained in chapter 90: Section 34J of the General Laws of Massachusetts.
The fines for this crime vary but being uninunsured while driving a motor vehicle can leave you liable for a fine amount of $500 but no greater then $5000. The other portion of the law states that the offender could be liable for 1 years premium for complusory motor vehicle insurance at the highest rated class or risk in effect at the time of the commission of the offense.
The law also allows for imprisonment, if found guilty, for no longer then a year. In serious cases, both the fine and jail time can be given to the offender.
Furthermore, the Registry of Motor Vehicles has the ability to suspend the license of the driver and the registration and tags of the vehicle for 60 days.
It may seem financially beneficial to try and sneek by but as you can see, if you have to pay the price, it’s going to be a lot. By shopping around and comparing prices, you can find affordable rates that will fit your budget. Don’t wait, it may cost you your license and much more!