The severe storms and flooding that have occurred in Massachusetts recently have been classified by the government as federal disaster areas.  The counties of Bristol, Essex, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth, Suffolk, and Worcester fall under this classification. 

Due to the severe nature of the damage caused by the storms, the IRS has extended the deadline for income taxes for these counties to May 11th. The normal April 15 deadline will still be the due date for the rest of the state.

Taxpayers in the counties listed will not be required to do anything to receive this extension.  The IRS computer system will automatically recognize the affected areas and extend the deadlines for those individuals.